SB 0979 Changes the name of MO Southern State College, MO Western State College and Southwest MO State University
LR Number:3311S.02I Fiscal Note:3311-02
Last Action:02/27/02 - SCS Voted Do Pass S Education Committee (3311S.04C) Journal page:
Title:SCS SB 979
Effective Date:August 28, 2002
Full Bill Text | All Actions | Available Summaries | Senate Home Page | List of 2002 Senate Bills
Current Bill Summary

SCS/SB 979 - This act changes the name of: Missouri Southern State College to Missouri Southern University-Joplin; Missouri Western State College to Missouri Western State University; and Southwest Missouri State University to Missouri State University.

The act additionally asserts that persons appointed to the Board of Regents of Missouri Western State University shall be residents of Buchanan county as well as the counties contiguous to Buchanan county. Persons appointed to the board of regents of Missouri Southern University-Joplin shall be residents of the area within a one hundred mile radius of the district in which the university is located.

The provisions of this act shall become effective on July 1, 2003.