SB 0191 St. Louis County third class cities to fill vacancies by appointment; eliminates office of marshal for certain cities
LR Number:0700L.04C Fiscal Note:0700-04
Committee:Financial and Governmental Organization
Last Action:04/25/01 - Return Bill to Committee of origin H Local Government Journal page:H1336
& Related Matters Committee
Title:HCS SB 191
Effective Date:August 28, 2001
Full Bill Text | All Actions | Available Summaries | Senate Home Page | List of 2001 Senate Bills
Current Bill Summary

HCS/SB 191 - This act allows two or more municipalities which are adjoining or contiguous and located in any of the following third classification counties: Washington, Miller, New Madrid, Polk, Pemiscot, Ray, Audrain, Webster, Randolph, Adair, Taney, Laclede, Barry, Marion, or Lincoln, to combine into one municipality. This portion of the act is similar to HB 520 (2001).

Under current law, all third class cities, except those in St. Louis County, may fill vacancies by appointment subject to advice and consent of the city council. In St. Louis County, vacancies are filled by special election. This act removes the requirement for election in St. Louis County and allows vacancies to be filled by appointment. The appointed successors serve until the next regular municipal election.

The act allows third class cities that contract with another entity for police service to eliminate the office of marshal. Current law provides for the election of marshal by the voters of the city. This portion of the act is identical to HB 491 (2001).