SECOND REGULAR SESSION

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 40

90TH GENERAL ASSEMBLY

INTRODUCED BY SENATOR CHILDERS.

Pre-filed December 1, 1999, and 1,000 copies ordered printed.

2700S.02I

TERRY L. SPIELER, Secretary.

JOINT RESOLUTION

Submitting to the qualified voters of Missouri, an amendment to article VIII of the Constitution of Missouri relating to the public service commission.

Be it resolved by the Senate, the House of Representatives concurring therein:

That at the next general election to be held in the state of Missouri, on Tuesday next following the first Monday in November, 2000, or at a special election to be called by the governor for that purpose, there is hereby submitted to the qualified voters of this state, for adoption or rejection, the following amendment to article VIII of the Constitution of the state of Missouri:

Section A. Article VIII, Constitution of Missouri, is amended by adding one new section, to be known as section 23. to read as follows:

Section 23. At the general election in the year 2000 and every four years thereafter the qualified voters in each congressional district shall elect a public service commissioner pursuant to law. Each commissioner shall be a qualified voter of the congressional district, shall have resided in said district one whole year immediately prior to such commissioner's election and shall be not less than twenty-five years of age. Commissioners shall enter office upon the discharge of their duties on the first day of January next after their election and shall hold office for a term of four years except for those first elected, and until their successors are elected and qualified, unless sooner removed from office. Any commissioner serving an appointive term as of the effective date of this section shall hold such office until such commissioner's term expires. For the commissioners first elected pursuant to this section, each commissioner who resides in a congressional district of an even number shall hold office for a term of two years and each commissioner who resides in a congressional district of an odd number shall hold office for a term of four years, and all

commissioners shall hold office until a successor is elected and qualified, unless sooner removed from office.

Unofficial

Bill

Copy