Senator Karla Eslinger

District 33 – Douglas, Howell, Oregon, Ozark, Ripley, Texas, Webster, and Wright
View District Map (Google Maps)
View District Map (PDF)

Senator Karla Eslinger is a lifelong educator with more than 30 years of experience in a variety of educational settings. She most recently served as a senior analyst for education services with the AEM Corporation and provided technical assistance to the U.S. Department of Education in Washington, D.C. Previously, she served as an assistant commissioner of education for the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. She began her career as an elementary school teacher and went on to work as a building principal and a superintendent of schools in Ava and West Plains.

A graduate of Gainesville High School, Sen. Eslinger holds a bachelor degree in elementary education from The College of the Ozarks. She also earned a master’s degree in education administration and a specialist degree in superintendency and educational system administration from Missouri State University. Senator Eslinger received her doctorate in educational leadership and policy analysis from the University of Missouri-Columbia.
Prior to her election to the Missouri Senate in 2020, Sen. Eslinger represented District 155 in the Missouri House of Representatives from 2019 through 2020.

Senator Eslinger is a long-term resident of Wasola, where she and her husband David reside on the family farm. They have also owned and operated a small business for over 35 years. They have two daughters and three grandchildren.

Legislative Service:
Elected to the Senate: 2020
House of Representatives: 2018 – 2020

Committee Membership:
Commerce, Consumer Protection, Energy and the Environment
Gubernatorial Appointments
Professional Registration
Joint Committee on Child Abuse and Neglect
Joint Committee on Legislative Research
Joint Committee on Legislative Research – Oversight Subcommittee
Joint Committee on Public Assistance
Interim Commitee on Education, Chairwoman
Interim Committee on Illegal Immigration
Select Committee on Redistricting
Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Career and Technical Education Advisory Council
Missouri Education Program Board