## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 26

Whereas, human trafficking is a form of slavery in which psychological and physical coercion is used to force people to perform commercial sex acts, house-keeping, farm work, and other types of labor and services; and

Whereas, the human trafficking industry generates one hundred fifty billion dollars in annual profits throughout the world on the backs of an estimated twenty-one million victims, including five and a half million children; and

Whereas, despite the efforts of dozens of nonprofit organizations dedicated to fighting human trafficking, it is the fastest growing criminal industry in the world:

Now Therefore Be It Resolved that the members of the Missouri Senate, Ninety-eighth General Assembly, First Regular Session, the House of Representatives concurring therein, hereby create the Human Trafficking Task Force; and

Be It Further Resolved that the mission of the task force shall be to raise awareness of the human trafficking problem in Missouri and provide organizations and agencies that enforce human trafficking laws and assist victims with a central place to share information; and

Be It Further Resolved that the task force shall consist of the following members:

- (1) Two members of the Senate to be appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate;
- (2) Two members of the House of Representatives to be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives;
- (3) The Attorney General or his or her designee;
- (4) The Director of the Department of Public Safety or his or her designee;
- (5) The Director of the Department of Corrections or his or her designee;
- (6) A circuit court judge who has experience handling juvenile court matters, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate;
- (7) A prosecuting or circuit attorney, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives;
- (8) A juvenile officer from a circuit court, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate;
- (9) The Commissioner of Education or his or her designee;
- (10) The Director of the Department of Social Services or his or her designee;
- (11) The Director of the Department of Mental Health or his or her designee;
- (12) One representative from the Missouri Police Chiefs Association, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, and one representative from the Missouri Sheriffs Association, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives;
- (13) Four representatives from geographically diverse non-governmental organizations that assist victims of human trafficking, two of whom shall be appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and two of whom shall be appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; and

Be It Further Resolved that the staffs of Senate Research, House Research, and the Joint Committee on Legislative Research shall provide such legal, research, clerical, technical, and bill drafting services as the task force may require in the performance of its duties; and

Be It Further Resolved that the task force, its members, and any staff assigned to the task force shall receive reimbursement for their actual and necessary expenses incurred in attending meetings of the Task Force or any subcommittee thereof; and

Be It Further Resolved that the task force shall meet within two months from adoption of this resolution; and

Be It Further Resolved that the task force shall report a summary of its activities and any recommendations for legislation to the General Assembly by January 1, 2017; and

Be It Further Resolved that the Human Trafficking Task Force is authorized to function during the legislative interim of both the first and second regular sessions of the 98th General Assembly, as authorized by <u>State v. Atterburry</u>, 300 S.W.2d 806 (Mo. 1957); and

Be It Further Resolved that the task force shall terminate on January 1, 2017; and

Be It Further Resolved that the Secretary of the Missouri Senate be instructed to prepare properly inscribed copies of this resolution for the Attorney General, the Director of the Department of Public Safety, the Director of the Department of Corrections, the Director of the Department of Mental Health, the Director of the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education, and the Director of the Department of Social Services.

Resolution

