HB 1270 Requires that all gasoline sold as of January 1, 2008, in Missouri be fuel ethanol-blended gasoline

Current Bill Summary

- Prepared by Senate Research -

CCS/SCS/HCS/HBs 1270 & 1072 - The act makes it clear that a Missouri qualified biodiesel producer must either be a facility that is owned by at least fifty-one percent of Missouri agricultural producers or a facility which utilizes at least eighty percent of Missouri feedstock. The Missouri qualified biodiesel producer incentive fund shall expire on December 31, 2009 and the act provides for the full payment to any producer who has been approved prior to that date.

The act directs that all fuel sold as of January 1, 2008 in Missouri be fuel ethanol-blended gasoline.

Exceptions to this requirement are laid out in the act and include situations where a distributor is unable to obtain such gasoline at the terminal at the same or lower price as gasoline that is unblended.

Any exemptions made by the Environmental Protection Agency as well as bulk transfers between terminals are exempt from the provisions in the act and certain gasoline types are exempted from the requirement including aviation fuel and automotive fuel used in aircraft, premium gasoline, and E75 and E85 gasoline.

The act allows the director of the Department of Agriculture to waive the ethanol requirement through rules as well as provides the Governor the power to, by executive order, waive the requirement for reasons related to air quality.

The act directs all terminals in Missouri that sell gasoline to offer for sale, in cooperation with positions holders and suppliers, fuel ethanol blended gasoline, fuel ethanol, and unblended gasoline. Terminals that only offer for sale federal reformulated gasolines shall not be required to offer for sale unblended gasoline.

The act allows the purchase of fuel ethanol between retailers, wholesalers, distributors and marketers and any fuel ethanol producer, supplier, wholesaler, position holder or terminal.


Go to Main Bill Page | Return to Summary List | Return to Senate Home Page