SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 54

WHEREAS, American women of every culture, class and ethnic background have made historic contributions to the growth and strength of our Nation in countless recorded and unrecorded ways; and

WHEREAS, American women have played and continue to play a critical economic, cultural and social role in every sphere of the life of the Nation by constituting a significant portion of the labor force working inside and outside the home; and

WHEREAS, American women have played a unique role throughout the history of the Nation by providing the majority of the volunteer labor force in our Nation; and

WHEREAS, American women were particularly important in the establishment of early charitable, philanthropic and cultural institutions in our Nation; and

WHEREAS, American women of every culture, class and ethnic background served as early leaders in the forefront of every major progressive social change movement; and

WHEREAS, American women have been leaders, not only in securing their own rights of suffrage and equal opportunity, but also in the abolitionist movement, the emancipation movement, the industrial labor movement, the civil rights movement, and other movements, especially the peace movement, which create a more fair and just society for all; and

WHEREAS, despite these contributions, the role of American women in history has been consistently overlooked and undervalued, in the literature, teaching and study of American history:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the members of the Senate of the Ninety-first General Assembly, Second Regular Session, the House of Representatives concurring therein, hereby designate the month of March as "Women's History Month" and urge the Governor to issue a proclamation calling upon the people of the State of Missouri to observe this month with appropriate programs, ceremonies and activities; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of the Senate be instructed to prepare properly inscribed copies of this resolution for the Governor and each member of Missouri's Congressional delegation.